It’s impossible to go over your data allowance! Once the data limit is reached, data usage will stop and a message will prompt the user to buy an add-on. Once an add-on has been purchased, all members will receive a message that they may continue to use data.
All members of a Shared Plan can keep track of the data usage via their EE account. Text messages will also be sent when the shared data limit is close to being reached.